Slapstick 2011 video on YouTube

Following my recent filming blitz for the Glasgow Film Festival I went back to the audio slideshow format for my latest project.

At the end of January I ventured off back down to Bristol for what has become one of the highlights of my film festival-going year: Slapstick 2011.

The event celebrates the silent era’s greats – Chaplin, Lloyd, Laurel & Hardy and my favourite, Keaton – while allowing some of the lesser known stars of the 1920s to have some space to shine. This year also so a tribute to the lats Marty Feldman and a celebration of Aardman Animation’s Shaun the Sheep, so they’re not just about the distant past.

In 2010 I was asked by BBC Radio Scotland’s Movie Café to record a short feature from the event but this year I couldn’t resist going a step further and creating my own audio slideshow.

I approached some celebrities, including the three Goodies, Bill Oddie, Tim Brooke-Taylor and Graeme Garden, as well as Dad’s Army star Ian Lavender and TV presenter Chris Searle, for their views on Slapstick. I also took a number of photos over the weekend on the same camera I used for the Glasgow videos.

Due to the nature of the event, time was short between talks and screenings, hence the decision not to film the interviews. Also,  a lot of the guests were off duty when I approached them for a comment and it seemed rude to film them. Audio seemed to go down much better.

The video is now on YouTube and I think has turned out well, though in 2012 I might try fully fledged filming with some more preparation of interviews…if they’ll let me.

Leave a Reply

