Busy behind-the-scenes

The last time I posted an update on this blog I was recovering from a hectic week of Festival fun and games here in Edinburgh, that time of the year when the population doubles and your bank balance halves.

Since then it’s been even busier, with a new piece of work looking like it’s going to take up a few months of my time. I’ll be able to write about it in more detail in the next week or two, but it’s an exciting one which utilises a number of my skills and interests.

Elsewhere, following my column in the Edinburgh Evening News which wondered why Sir Sean Connery’s 80th birthday was all but ignored, I discovered the existence of a short film made by Sean in 1982, one which now resides in the Scottish Screen Archive. My review of Sean Connery’s Edinburgh was in last week’s paper and is on the Evening News website.

I also ventured out-of-town to the rather wonderful Bo’ness Hippodrome cinema last weekend, to hear The Southwell Collective perform their music to 1928’s The Fall of the House of Usher. I’m a sucker for a silent movie with live music and this was one of the best – I took some time to interview the musicians after their performance:

Audioboo Southwell Collective

I’m finding my time on Twitter and other social networks slightly reduced at the moment as the days jobs take up my time, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Much as I love keeping up-to-date on the world around me in 140 characters or less, it can be overwhelming at times, particularly when you need to concentrate on the 9-to-5.

Leave a Reply

